Anne Blankenhorn named Farley Award winner


Congratulations to Anne Blankenhorn on winning the 2016 Jon Farley Exceptional Legislative Staffer Award!!

The Farley Award was established to honor Jon Farley, former chief of staff for state Sen. Dave Robertson who passed away in 2013. The award seeks to commend Farley’s devoted service to the Legislature by acknowledging staff from a member office, caucus-affiliated position or nonpartisan legislative service bureau for similar qualities.

Anne has worked for the Legislature for nearly 18 years as a member of the Senate Majority Policy Office, serving as the policy advisor for the Senate Committee on Education and the Appropriation subcommittee on K-12, School Aid and Department of Education.

Anne is responsible for helping draft bills, analyzing legislation, preparing for the Senate education committee and Appropriations subcommittee hearings, meeting with stakeholders, and advising senators on legislation and ideas for legislation.

Prior to joining the policy office, Anne taught French and computer literacy for two years at a charter school. She also taught in a private school in Los Angeles, where she lived for five years. Before moving to California, she taught French at Lansing Community College. She also worked as a substitute teacher in Los Angeles and in several areas in Michigan.

Being named an exceptional legislative staffer is a true symbol of Anne’s hard work and diligence that has been recognized not only by those who work in the Legislature, but the elected members as well.

Michigan Senate Republicans would like to thank Anne for years of quality service to the state of Michigan, and her tireless work on behalf of the education community.

Nominees and this year’s winner were honored during the third annual Jon Farley Exceptional Legislative Staffer Award reception downtown at the Nuthouse on Wednesday.

For additional photos of the ceremony and this year’s winner, please visit or

Nominations open for Jon Farley award

The nomination period for the 2016 Jon Farley Exceptional Legislative Staffer Award has officially opened.

Named in honor of Sen. Dave Robertson’s former Chief of Staff Jon Farley, who passed away in 2013, the award seeks to commend Jon’s exceptional devotion to the Legislature by acknowledging legislative staff members for similar service.

Nominees can include any legislative staffer who provides extraordinary service to a member of the Legislature, such as staff from a member office, caucus-affiliated position or nonpartisan Legislative Service Bureau.

Nomination forms can be found by clicking here, or by going to and clicking “Submit Nomination.” Completed nomination forms can either be submitted electronically or be dropped off at the office of Senator Dave Robertson, Farnum Building Room 305, with attention to Erika Farley. The window to nominate someone will close at the end of the business day on Monday, Feb. 29.

Nominees and the 2016 winner will be honored during a free reception downtown at the Nuthouse on Wednesday, March 16 from 5 – 8 p.m.

For more information, or to view past winners, please visit or